Saturday, July 20, 2024
HomePoliticsFubara swears in Rivers caretaker committee chairmen

Fubara swears in Rivers caretaker committee chairmen

Rivers State Governor, Siminalayi Fubara, has sworn in 23 new caretaker chairmen for the 23 local government areas of the state.

The swearing-in was done on Wednesday at the Government House in Port Harcourt, the state capital amid tight security.

Rivers State Governor, Siminalayi Fubara, at the swearing in of the 23 new caretaker chairmen in Port Harcourt on June 19, 2024.

Channels Television reports that the exercise was carried out at the Council Chambers with the first batch of 11 CTC chairmen taking their oath of office.

It comes a day after he forwarded the list to the state House of Assembly led by factional Speaker, Victor Jumbo.

The lawmakers had invited the nominees for screening as early as 8 am on Wednesday.

See the names of the caretaker chairmen nominated by Fubara below:

    Abua/Odua LGA – Madigai Dickson

    Ahoada East LGA – Happy Benneth

  Ahoada West LGA – Mr. Daddy John Green

 Akuku Toru LGa – Otonye Briggs

  Andoni LGA – Reginald Ekaan

    Asari Toru LGA – Orolosoma Amachree

    Bonny LGA – Alabota Anengi Barasua

    Degema LGA – Anthony Soberekon

    Eleme LGA – Brain Gokpa

    Emouha LGA – David Omereji

    Etche LGA – John Otamiri

    Gokana LGA – Kenneth Kpeden

    Ikwerre LGA – Darlington Orji

    Khana LGA – Marvin Yobana

    Obia/Akpor LGA – Chijioke Ihunwo

    Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni LGA – Princewill Ejekwe

    Ogu/Bolo LGA – Evans Bipi

    Okrika LGA – Princess Ogan

    Omuma LGA – Promise Reginald

    Opobo/Nkoro LGA – Enyiada Cookey-Gam

    Oyigbo LGA – – Gogo Philip

    Port Harcourt LGA – Ichemati Ezebunwo

    Tai LGA – Matthew Dike

Rivers LG Crisis: The Genesis

The development adds another twist to the political crisis in the state months after the Rivers Assembly passed the Local Government Amendment Bill into law.

While Fubara did not assent to the bill, the lawmakers led by Martin Amaewhule vetoed him.

The law empowered the Rivers State Assembly to extend the tenure of council chairpersons, their vice, and councillors where it is deemed impossible to hold elections before the end of their three-year tenure.

But a court nullified the amended law, prompting an appeal. The appeal court is set to deliver a ruling on the matter on June 20, 2024.

In the wake of the disagreement over the tenure elongation of the local chairpersons and councillors, Rowland Sekibo and Onengiyeofori George of Akuku-Toru and Asari-Toru local government councils respectively called for peace after youths barricaded the secretariats on Monday.

They insist that their tenure was duly extended by the Amaewhule-led assembly.

Fubara Gets Backing

But on Tuesday, some youths of Ijaw extraction camped outside the Port Harcourt Local Government Area Secretariat in solidarity with Fubara’s directive.

They sat in canopies, sang, danced, and waved the Ijaw Youth Congress flags. Some of them displayed placards with solidarity messages for Fubara amid heavy security presence.

Police Warn Troublemakers

Earlier, police authorities in the oil-rich state cautioned against trouble, warning that they would clamp down on such.

The Rivers Commissioner of Police Olatunji Disu who spoke at the police headquarters in Port Harcourt assured residents of peace. He appealed to politicians and their supporters to respect the appeal and cease hostilities pending the hearing and determination of their case.

He, however, cautioned that Rivers Police Command is combat-ready and won’t condone any attempt to disturb the peace in the South-South state.

Newslinedaily…Your path to credible news



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Recent Comments